• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

ROTP at RMC only : 2019 - 2020

Hello Handouts!

I was going through the threads and I saw your post. It is from few months ago so I am not sure if my response is going to make it to you. I can sympathize with your situation because I was in the same boat as you a few years ago. I had applied to join the Forces in 2016, however, it was not until 2018 that I heard back from them about my application. I have not lived in Canada for the past ten years and my back ground is Pakistani. So I knew that security clearance would take a while before I hear anything back from them. So I went about my life and just waited which is what the military recommends. The reason for this is that you are never guaranteed a position in the Forces. I graduated university and got a job and lived my life. When the military called me with a job offer I decided to join, I could have very well said no thank you but that is the decision you make once you have an offer. I would never recommend anyone wait. Go do your thing live your life and when you have an offer decide what you want to do.

Now one of the things you have mentioned about your reliability status. I would like to bring to your attention that reliability status is the first step towards getting your security clearance. Call it unfair if you would like to but the rules are that if you have not lived in Canada for the past 10 years or if you have links to a non-NATO country you would have to get security clearance before you can join. That is what happened to me. I had to wait until I got my security clearance before I could join. For many other people security clearance is applied for during their BMQ or BMOQ. So you need to find out if that is the step where your file is stuck.