• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Naval Reserve and Sea time

Acer Syrup

Inactive
Reaction score
I have searched and searched for my answer, but no prevail.

I work in the coast forest industry and I have never been able to have the ability to serve in the PRes until todays recent economics situations. The next couple of years my company will be a little hurting. So hey, all of a sudden a leave of absense is totally optional (even recommended).

Specifically my question is not how much sea time a reservist can get, I found that. But what are the requirements to go to sea? QL3?

Is it difficult to get sea posting?

You will need to take the NETP course. As for opportunities to go to sea, there are short term OJT position and postings that exist year round for most of the hard sea trades. Using your Divisional System, remember to keep your AVREP (Availability Report) current with the dates and which positions you are interested in filling. Your trade's CM uses the AVREP as their primary tool to fill positions.

There are many opportunities to go to sea but it really depends on what trade or officer classification you are looking to get into.  Perhaps you can provide us with more information so that we can be better able to help you?

Well it would it would be a NCM position that I would apply for. I haven't really decided what trade I would pick. Honestly I was going to call HMCS Malahat recruiting and see what trades where open.

I was thinking (even though you would have never caught me saying this a couple of years ago) Bos'n. Thats about as hardcore navy as you could get. NES OP always seems to be in demend, but not too sure if that total excites me. I job shadowed a NCI OP, it was ok. Intelligence Operator perked my interest, but that doesn't sound readily available or a hardcore sea position available for Cl C position.