• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Opportunities for optometrists

eyeod

Inactive
Reaction score
Thought it would be most appropriate to ask this question here.

I was an Air Cadet for five years as a teen and have always contemplated joining the Canadian Forces.  I'm currently an optometry student and from my searching, it seems that there are no opportunities available for optometrists in the CF; I was a little surprised at this because vision is so important in the Canadian Forces!  Is anyone aware of any opportunities available to optometrists? 

Thanks

Not that I've seen - we do employ ophthalmic technologists on some bases to do some of the routine refractions and quick curbside consults for us...it actually used to be a sub-specialty course for medics but got phased out.

MM

While there may be no opportunity for employment in the CF as an optometrist, you might be suitable for BioScience Officer. Contact recruiting, the worst that can happen is they say no. Another option is to join as an HCA and work on the side.

Thanks for the quick replies MM and ModlrMike!

That's disappointing.  Optometrists could provide a great service to the Canadian Forces - we pretty much handle all primary care for the eyes nowadays (authorised to rx meds etc.) and I'm sure due to the nature of the work, a lot of personnel do experience eye problems.  I have a few acquaintances who are ODs for the US military and it seems like such rewarding work.
I have a passion for the eyes and have always wanted to be an optometrist (following in my mother's footsteps) so I can't really see myself performing another role; I'm sure the MDs, DDSs, Pharmacists, RNs etc. on here can relate!
I guess there are CF ophthalmologists that handle the eyes?