• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Path to become a Para Infantry Officer in around 10 years.

Status
Not open for further replies.

sam.shepherd2379

Inactive
Reaction score
Greetings all.

My name is Samuel Shepherd, and I'm looking to become a para infantry officer as my career.

A little bit of my background which will probably effect your much appreciated advice is my cadet career. I've been in for 5 years, retiring as a MWO. Most significantly though would be my completion of the Basic Parachutist course at CFLAWC in the summer of 2011. (If you feel that the course offered to cadets does not count as the actual military qualification then you are mistaken). I was captain of the highschool rugby team, as well as head coach for the grade 7 & 8 team, so I have some leadership experience already from cadets and rugby.

Now, the real issue is that I have two options which have been offered to me, and I need to choose fast which one I wish to take.
First option: Join the QOR in Scarborough as an NCM while attending Trent University in Oshawa.
Second option: Join the Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders of Canada as an Officer (a position is open and I have been offered it) while attending McMaster Univesity.

Now the way I see it both options have benefits.
Option 1 Benifits:
- Joining as an NCM gives me experience as a troop, such as the ones I will one day lead in the future. This means I can look at the system from a different view, watch officers as my leaders and see what is good and what is bad. This, in my opinion, is a huge factor in learning how to be a good leader.