Author Topic: Seeking application/role advice  (Read 3706 times)

Offline mawatcha

• Rate Post
Seeking application/role advice
« on: August 31, 2016, 14:02:23 »
Hello,

I am new to the forums, please redirect me if this is the wrong place for posting.

As I approach my mid-20s, I am starting to feel stifled by the mundanity of office life where I work and am thinking about the Army or Navy, particularly as I have had family members in both.

I am interested in three positions right now - Signals Officer, Naval Communicator and Resource Management Support Clerk. I know that all three of those are very different but I find each to be really interesting. My background is in administration and I have worked at both a university and non-profit, with a degree in communications and certificate in Human Resources.

My main curiosity is around the difference between being an officer or non-commissioned member. If I didn't go for an Officer position, is it really difficult to advance in a non-commissioned role? I am not sure if my degree aligns with the Signals Officer requirement. I am also not expecting advancement opportunities right away, just interested to know if they are there.

Thank you for any advice anyone can offer, I am really excited to learn more.

Online mariomike

• Directing Staff
  • Army.ca Fixture
  • Rate Post
    • The job.
Re: Seeking application/role advice
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2016, 14:09:50 »
My main curiosity is around the difference between being an officer or non-commissioned member.

Officer/NCM differences 
http://army.ca/forums/index.php?topic=171.0
23 pages.

As always,  Recruiting is your most trusted source of information.
« Last Edit: August 31, 2016, 14:15:07 by mariomike »

Offline Dimsum

West coast best coast.

• Mentor
  • Army.ca Fixture
  • Rate Post
  • I get paid to travel. I just don't pick where.
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2016, 14:25:57 »